top of page

Fifth Sunday of Easter


In this Sundays gospel we hear Jesus telling his disciples "do not let your hearts be troubled; have faith in God and faith in me".


During my time at university I remember having an experience of doubt within my faith. The academic year was coming to an end and it seemed as if I could not get ahead in my work and extra curricular activities.


I remember attending student mass on the Sunday before the last week of classes for that year. I felt lost, broken and was ready to give up. Ironically the gospel for that Sunday is the one we hear today. It was in hearing the words "do not let your hearts be troubled; have faith in God and faith in me" that made me realise that I was being guided by God and was able to rest in His love.


For many of us in this uncertain time we can feel those same emotions that I was feeling some years ago. Lost. Broken. Ready to give up. These are true human emotions and it is indeed fine to feel them.


But our faith gives us something more. In Christ we find that there is hope. We find that there is love. We find that even in our most troubling days, He is with us.


What I did not know about that night when I walked into my universities church for mass was that I would leave feeling a deep, real, lasting sense of God's love for me. If for whatever reason you are feeling that in these times, finding meaning for your faith is tough, just remember the words from our gospel today:


"Do not let your hearts be troubled; have faith in God and faith in me."




Scripture Reading


John:

Jesus said to his disciples: “Do not let your hearts be troubled. You have faith in God; have faith also in me. In my Father’s house there are many dwelling places. If there were not, would I have told you that I am going to prepare a place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back again and take you to myself, so that where I am you also may be. Where I am going you know the way.” Thomas said to him, “Master, we do not know where you are going; how can we know the way?” Jesus said to him, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. If you know me, then you will also know my Father. From now on you do know him and have seen him.” Philip said to him, “Master, show us the Father, and that will be enough for us.” Jesus said to him, “Have I been with you for so long a time and you still do not know me, Philip? Whoever has seen me has seen the Father. How can you say, ‘Show us the Father’? Do you not believe that I am in the Father and the Father is in me? The words that I speak to you I do not speak on my own. The Father who dwells in me is doing his works. Believe me that I am in the Father and the Father is in me, or else, believe because of the works themselves. Amen, amen, I say to you, whoever believes in me will do the works that I do, and will do greater ones than these, because I am going to the Father.”



Visio Divina Exercise

Using the image below, we will engage in a Visio Divina Exercise.


1. Prepare Your Heart for Prayer

Before you begin, choose your image and have it visible – either be near it in person or have the image pulled up on your phone or computer. You may want to begin your time in prayer with a scripture reading (gospel above). Close your eyes, breathe, clear your mind, and ask God to enter into this time of prayer with you. Ask God to speak to you through this image.


2. Allow the Image to Speak to Your Heart

Open your eyes and look at the image you’ve selected. Let your eyes pause and focus on the part of the image they’re first drawn to. Gaze upon just that part of the image for a minute or two. The close your eyes, still seeing that part of the image in your mind.


3. Reflect on the Entire Image

Open your eyes and now look upon the whole image. Gaze upon all of the image, allowing it to draw forth a word, an emotion, or an image in your heart. What do you hear God whispering into your heart? What thoughts or questions is this image raising? What emotions do you feel? Continue to gaze and reflect as long as you need to, then briefly close and rest your eyes.


4. Pray Through the Image

Open your eyes. While looking upon the image, respond to God. Pray through the words, images, emotions, questions, and thoughts that are now on your heart. Continue to look upon the image as you pray. Then, close and rest your eyes briefly.


5. Rest and Reflect in God

As you close out your time in prayer, open your eyes and gaze again upon the image. Rest in God’s presence as you reflect upon this prayer experience. Consider how you’ll take this into your life. You may choose to journal about your experience.


Image entitled: I am with you always



Silent Reflection


After this exercise spend time reflecting while listening to the below song:






Prayer


Exult, you just, in the LORD;

praise from the upright is fitting.

Give thanks to the LORD on the harp;

with the ten-stringed lyre chant his praises.

Upright is the word of the LORD,

and all his works are trustworthy.

He loves justice and right;

of the kindness of the LORD the earth is full.

See, the eyes of the LORD are upon those who fear him,

upon those who hope for his kindness,

To deliver them from death

and preserve them in spite of famine.


Amen.



Activities

Use your Bible and engage with this activity




Song of Praise







9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Love

bottom of page