top of page

Happy Easter!

During the next few days I will be sharing stories about the Triduum from my childhood. Refer to my post "Celebrate at Home!" for family activities during these holy days. (THIS IS THE LAST OF THIS SERIES)





I love Easter. It has always been my favourite time of the year to attend church. The smell of fresh flowers, the aroma of sweet incense, the wonderful music we can only sing during this time, the bright coloured clothing we wear, and of course the food are just a few reasons the season of Easter holds a special place in my heart. 


Growing up in The Bahamas we had many special Easter traditions. I still remember waking up on Easter morning to the smell of my grandmothers cooking. We would have a feast and there would be many people around at my house for dinner. I also remember waking up with eager excitement as my church would always have an Easter egg hunt. When pulling up to church, the lawn would be covered in bright coloured eggs all filled with special treats. Whoever would find the golden egg would get a very large Easter basket. Mass seemed to go on longer than usual maybe because I would be eager to get home to open my own Easter basket. 


This Easter I have felt a mix of nostalgia. Thinking about home and the many different places I have been able to spend this day. This is my first Easter in a new country and how different it will be for so many of us. Churches will not ring with the finest music and filled with the fragrant smell of flowers. The twice a year churchgoers won’t be able to meet their yearly standard. Restaurants and shops will be closed and family and friends we might want to celebrate this day will be in their own homes. 


However, in the chaos of our current climate Christ has still broken the chains of death and risen from the dead. This day marks what is central to what we believe as Christians. God loved us so much that he sent His Son. His Son came in human form just like one of us. Through this action God united Himself with us. He  loved us so much that His Son was crucified so that we might have eternal life. 


I hope during this Easter we can remember this love that breaks all barriers even in the midst of the chaos. Today let us rejoice and be glad as the psalmist (Psalm 118) writes:


Give thanks to the LORD, for he is good,

for his mercy endures forever.

Let the house of Israel say,

“His mercy endures forever.”

The right hand of the LORD has struck with power;

the right hand of the LORD is exalted.

I shall not die, but live,

and declare the works of the LORD.

The stone the builders rejected

has become the cornerstone.

By the LORD has this been done;

it is wonderful in our eyes.



With Easter joy and prayers,

Rámond


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Love

bottom of page