top of page

The Good Shepherd | Fourth Sunday of Easter


Today we celebrate the Fourth Sunday of Easter. This Sunday is commonly known as Good Shepherd Sunday because of the readings and prayers that we hear at mass.


In February of 2018 while I was living in Rome I got a text message from my mom telling me that my uncle had passed away. In a few days I would find myself tearfully navigating Gatwick airport to make my connection on British Airways. I had not been home for 14 months and my short return would be a sad one.


Before take off I began to peruse through the inflight entertainment and found myself looking through various music tracks. The first track I encountered was Psalm 23, "The Lord is my Shepherd" sung by Aled Jones. I have always been a fan of Psalm 23 but the imagery painted this time struck me in a profound way. It was that during that time of great sadness I was still being guided by the "Good Shepherd".



When I think of this image of the "Good Shepherd" I like to refer to this icon. In this contemporary depiction of this icon we see a person taking the place of the sheep. This gives us a deeper visual of Christ carrying us in our joys, our hopes, our weakness, in our good times and in our bad times. It is a constant reminder that Christ the Good Shepherd loves each of us in ways that may sometimes be unknown but is a true sign that His love is everlasting.




Scripture Reading


Psalm 23


The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want. He makes me to lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside the still waters. He restores my soul; He leads me in the paths of righteousness For His name’s sake.

Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil; For You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.

You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; You anoint my head with oil; My cup runs over. Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me All the days of my life; And I will dwell in the house of the Lord Forever.


Audio Divina Exercise


Audio Divina means divine listening. It is a form of prayer were we use music to guide us through an image, text or experience. As humans we easily relate to music. This exercise will help you to use music as a doorway to prayer. Follow the steps below to guide you:


Preparation

Prepare for your prayer by finding a quiet place and take some time to settle yourself into stillness and rest in silence.


First Hearing: Listen

Play the piece of music once to enter into its landscape. Notice the sounds of the notes and silences between them, rest into the movement of the music. Be present to how it rises and falls in your body and imagination.


Second Hearing: Reflect

Play the music a second time. This time while listening allow the sound or image or feeling that first called to you to draw you more deeply into the experience of it. Allow it to unfold in your imagination. Notice how the experience of listening to the music touches your heart. What memories does it stir in you? What are the feelings rising up in your body? What images are you aware of?


Third Hearing: Respond

Play the music a third time. This time focus on how your heart wants to respond to being touched. What is the invitation present in the unfolding of sounds, images, memories, and feelings for you today? How is God speaking to your life in this moment through this music?


Resting with God

Close your eyes for a few minutes and rest in the stillness in simple awareness of God's presence.


Closing

When you have come to the end of your prayer time you may want to play the music again and just experience it anew from the other side of this time.


The music for this exercise is a modern language setting of Psalm 23 that you read:




You may also find a visual helpful. Use this image if you feel it will aid in your experience of prayer:





Think About


Think about a time when you have been guided by someone. How did it make you feel? How has Christ been guiding you?





Prayer


Shout for joy to the LORD, all the earth. Worship the LORD with gladness; come before him with joyful songs. Know that the LORD is God. It is he who made us, and we are his; We are his people, the sheep of his pasture. Enter his gates with thanksgiving and his courts with praise; Give thanks to him and praise his name. For the LORD is good and his love endures forever; His faithfulness continues through all generations,


Amen.






Activities









Song of Praise






Blessings on the week ahead!




15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Love

bottom of page